A Practical Guide to SharePoint 2013

A Practical Guide to SharePoint 2013
A Practical Guide to SharePoint 2013 - Book by Saifullah Shafiq

Monday, September 27, 2010

SPS 2003: Deleting a site completely

This is one of the most frequently asked questions. A user when tries to re-create a deleted site gets an error (Site already exists ... !!). This happens when you delete the link but do not delete the actual site. To delete the site physically, do this:

Go to your site > Site Settings > Go to Site Administration > Delete Site (Under "Management and Statistics")

To remove the link, do this:

1. Go to site directory (sites area) > Manage sites

Find your site in the list, open the context menu (click the down arrow (drop down)) and select "Delete Item".

Now, your site is deleted and you can create it again with the same name!

Regards,

-SSA